Home COMMONWEALTH GAMES Journey continues for Mery Kom as she bags her 1st CWG gold;...

Journey continues for Mery Kom as she bags her 1st CWG gold; 8 other Boxing medals follow

Gaurav Solanki

Magnificient Mery won gold medal in Women’s 45-48kg category at the Commonwealth Games by defeating Northern Ireland’s Kristina O’Hara 5-0. The 2012 Olympic bronze medallist, five-time world champion, 2014 Asian Games gold medallist and five-time Asian champion dominated the title clash as all five judges awarded the 35-year-old identical 30-27 scores.

In the men’s 52kg, boxer Gaurav Solanki defeated Brendan Irvine of Northern Ireland by a 4:1 split decision from the judges. Solanki dominted the first two rounds but Brendan came back strongly in the final round.

Vikas Krishan

Vikas Krishan won gold in Men’s 75kg category by beating Dieudonne Wilfried Seyi Ntsengue of Cameroon. Vikas had a 5-0 victory over his opponent.

Amit Panghal had to settle for silver in the Men’s 46-49kg when he lost a close bout to England’s Galal Yafai after going down 28-29, 27-30, 29-28, 28-28, 28-29 via split verdict. Manish Kaushik also had a close bout against Harry Garside of Australia who was declared winner by a 3:2 split decision from the judges. Satish Kumar also lost to Frazer Clarke of England to settle for silver in Men’s +91kg category. Kumar lost 5-0 against the Englishman to bag India’s 16th Silver in this year’s Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.

Naman Tanwar

Boxer Mohammed Hussamuddin, Manoj Kumr and Naman Tanwar won bronze at the Commonwealth Games. Mohammed Hussamuddin had to settle for bronze at the 2018 Commonwealth Games after losing his 56kg semi-final bout to Peter McGrail of England. Manoj Kumar had to settle for a bronze as well after losing to another Englishman, Pat McCormack, in the 69kg semis. Naman Tanwar was defeated in his 91kg semi-final by Australia’s Jason Whateley to settle for bronze. 



Previous articleDay 9: India’s 15-year old Shooting sensation Anish Bhanwala was the star of the day
Next articleJavelin gold by Neeraj Chopra and Shooting glory by Sanjeev Rajput add to India’s golden run
PoulomiKundu started her career in 2000 as a freelance journalist in Hindustan Times. Soon after she was selected an intern in Zee News, Kolkata. After her post- graduation in English, Poulomi joined the leading television production house of eastern India, Rainbow Productions. She was a journalist in Khas Khobor, a Bengali news magazine programme in Doordarshan and also headed the post production department of another programme, Khas Kolkata. In 2004, Poulomi moved to Delhi as a creative writer in an advertising agency, Brand Stewards Pvt. Ltd. In 2005, she again shifted her base for a better opportunity and that in Mumbai. There she got the job in Raa Media Pvt Ltd. as an associate director of two programmes for Doordarshan-Yuva and Paisa Vasool. In the meantime, she also wrote features in DNA as a freelancer. Poulomi directs promotional videos, develops scripts for films for Corporate and NGOs. But an ardent sports lover, Poulomi always had an urge to contribute somewhere in the field of sports. Her love for sports started from an early age when she played gully cricket and football for local teams. Academics and professional hazards sometimes took her away from her passion, but it never died in her. She always nurtured the never-ending dream. So she materialized her dream in the form of ‘SPORTSAVOUR’. It is an online sports portal that serves sports with the tagline ‘For the indigenous, unconventional, unknown’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here