Friday , October 16 2020
Home / TRENDING / UPDATES / Khel Ratna to Sardar Singh, Devendra Jhajharia; Arjuna and Dronacharya award announced

Khel Ratna to Sardar Singh, Devendra Jhajharia; Arjuna and Dronacharya award announced

The sports ministry has decided to confer the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award to Para Athlete Devendra Jhajharia and celebrated former hockey captain Sardar Singh. The ministry also released the list of 7 Dronacharya awardees for coaches and 17 Arjuna awardees from different fields of sports. 

Devendra Jhajharia has become the first paralympian to get India’s highest sporting honour. Javelin thrower Jhajharia is the first Indian to win two Paralympic gold medals. Though he was the first choice of the awards selection committee, the members had also picked hockey midfielder Sardar Singh as its second nominee for the top honour. The award now goes jointly to Jhajharia and Singh.

A recipient of the Padma Shri in 2015,  Sardar Singh has two Asian Games medals — gold in 2014 Incheon and bronze in 2010 Guangzhou. He also has two Commonwealth Games silver medals and was named in the International Hockey Federation’s All-Star team twice in 2010, 2011.

Both the recipients of Khel Ratna Award will recieve a medal, a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh.

The Dhyan Chand Award for life-time contribution to sports development will be awarded to Bhupender Singh for Athletics, Syed Shahid Hakim for Football and Sumarai Tete for Hockey.

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will received statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

A complete list of award winners of 2017:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardee discipline
1. Shri Devendra Para Athlete
2. Shri Sardar Singh Hockey

Dronacharya Awards 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1. Late Dr. R. Gandhi Athletics
2. Mr. Heera Nand Kataria Kabaddi
3. Mr. G.S.S.V. Prasad Badminton (Lifetime)
4. Mr. Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing (Lifetime)
5. Mr. P.A. Raphel Hockey (Lifetime)
6. Mr. Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting (Lifetime)
7. Mr. Roshan Lal Wrestling (Lifetime)

Arjuna Awards 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardees Discipline
1. Ms. V.J. Surekha Archery
2. Ms. Khushbir Kaur Athletics
3. Mr. Arokia Rajiv Athletics
4. Ms. Prashanti Singh Basketball
5. Sub. LaishramDebendro Singh Boxing
6. Mr. CheteshwarPujara Cricket
7. Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket
8. Ms. OinamBembem Devi Football
9. Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia Golf
10. Mr. S.V. Sunil Hockey
11. Mr. Jasvir Singh Kabaddi
12. Mr. P. N. Prakash Shooting
13. Mr. A. Amalraj Table Tennis
14. Mr. SakethMyneni Tennis
15. Mr. SatyawartKadian Wrestling
16. Mr. Mariyappan Para-Athlete
17. Mr. Varun Singh Bhati Para-Athlete

Dhyan Chand Award

S. No. Name (S/Shri) Discipline
1 . Mr. Bhupender Singh Athletics
2. Mr. Syed Shahid Hakim Football
3. Ms. Sumarai Tete Hockey




About Poulomi Kundu

Check Also

History entwined: Singapore Pickleball from early 1990s to modernity

The picturesque island city-state of Singapore has a rich Pickleball history. It is the oldest …

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: