Monday , March 13 2023
Home / WORLD CUP / CRICKET / ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup- India crowned the first-ever champions

ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup- India crowned the first-ever champions

Shafali Verma led India team lifted the 1st ICC Under-19 Women’s World Cup after their seven-wicket comprehensive victory against England in Potchefstroom. 

The Indian captain Shafali Verma won the toss and elected to bowl against England in the final of ICC Under-19 Women’s World Cup. Titas Sadhu struck with the ball in the first over of the match removing Liberty Heap by a caught and bowl dismissal. She finished with two for 6 in her four overs that earned her the Player of the Match award. The seamer took 6 wickets in the tournament.

With Titas Setting the pace, the other bowlers also had a roaring performance. Archana took two wickets for 17 and Parshavi Chopra scalped another two wickets for just 13 runs. England tumbled to 22 for four and then eventually were all out for 68 runs in 17.1 overs. Captain Verma, Mannat Kashyap and Sonam Yadav claimed one wicket each.

Though England had a good start as they removed Shafali Verma and Shweta Sehrawat inside the first four overs, yet that was not enough to take away the match from India. Soumya Tiwari and Trisha took India to victory with Tiwari scoring 24 not out from 37 balls, while Trisha getting 24 in 29 balls.

India won by seven wickets, with 36 balls to spare.

About Sportsavour Desk

Check Also

Khelo India Youth Games- Ashmita Dhone, Vinatai Aher, L Dhanush create national record in Weightlifting

On day 8 of the Khelo India Youth Games, the weightlifters rewrote the record books …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *