Home LATEST India will host the 139th International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) session in Mumbai

India will host the 139th International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) session in Mumbai


India will host the 2023 International Olympic (IOC) Session at Mumbai, the first time since 1983.

An IOC session is the annual meeting of the members of the International Olympic Committee, comprising 101 voting members and 45 honorary members. It discusses and decides on the key activities of the global Olympics movement including adoption or amendment of the Olympic Charter, the election of IOC members and office bearers and election of the host city of the Olympics.

IOC member Nita Ambani made a presentation to the other members in Beijing and the assembly unanimously voted in India’s favour. Indian Olympic Association (IOA) President Narinder Batra, Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Anurag Thakur and Olympic gold medallist Abhinav Bindra were part of the delegation.

Mumbai received a historic 99% of the votes in favour of its bid from the delegates participating in the process, with 75 members endorsing its candidature in the session. The session will be held at the state-of-the-art Jio World Convention Centre. Nita Ambani described it as ‘a significant development for the country’s Olympic aspirations.

“The Olympic movement is back in India after a 40-year wait. I am truly grateful to the IOC for entrusting India with honour. This will herald the start of anew era for Indian sport.”

Hosting this Olympic session will be the first step towards India hosting the Youth Olympics in 2030 and pitching for a Summer Olympics in the next decade. Anurag Thakur in a tweet wrote, “A historic moment as the International Olympic Committee Session is coming to India in 2023! Indian sport has made giant strides in recent years. Excited and proud to have been a part of the Indian delegation for this landmark occasion.”

Previous articleBeijing Winter Olympics: Day 14 dominated by the Norwegians
Next articleBeijing Winter Olympics: 7 gold medals won on the penultimate day


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here