Home LATEST WPL 2023- BCCI announced five team owners for the inaugural season of...

WPL 2023- BCCI announced five team owners for the inaugural season of Women’s Premier League


Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Lucknow are the five city franchises in the Women’s Premier League.

In a landmark moment for Women’s Cricket in India, the BCCI has confirmed the owners and locations of the five franchises for the 2023 Women’s Premier League. The five cities which will host teams are Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Lucknow.

On Twitter, BCCI secretary, Jay Shah, wrote: “Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural WPL broke the records of the inaugural men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs. 46669.99 Cr in total bid.

The Adani Group made the biggest bid for the Ahmedabad team for a whooping Rs 1289 crore. IndiaWin Sports Private Limited, a 100 per cent subsidiary of Reliance Industries Limited, won the bid for the Mumbai franchise with the second-highest bid of Rs. 912.99 crore. Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited, which owns Royal Challengers Bengaluru in Men’s IPL, won the bid to acquire the Bengaluru franchise at the bidding amount of Rs. 901 crore. JSW GMR Cricket Private Limited paid 801 crores to win the bid of Delhi in the WPL. Capri Global Holdings Private Limited (CGCL), a Non-Banking Financial Company (NBFC) won the bid for Lucknow for a bid worth Rs.757 CR.

Earlier in January, it was confirmed that Viacom18 have won the media rights for the WPL, signing a five-year deal. The WPL replaces the Women’s T20 Challenge as India’s premier women’s T20 competition.


Previous articleInjuries to sportsmen are not just physical
Next articleHockey World Cup- Germany win title for the first time in 17 years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here